Breakfast meeting on Marine Biotech

The Intergroup organises a Breakfast meeting with European Marine Biological Research Infrastructure Cluster (EMBRIC) on 21 March 2018. Discussions will focus on how to release the potential of the blue biotechnology sector.

EMBRIC is a cluster of six pan-European Research Infrastructures (RIs) which offers transversal workflows to accelerate innovation in marine biotechnology.

After running the RI cluster for 34 months, the EMBRIC consortium has identified several barriers which slow down innovation in the field, including obstacles related to standards, investment capacity and sustainability of marine bioresources. In particular optimizing policies that decrease the risk-taking capacity of private investments will be essential in promoting the blue bio-economy in peripheral maritime regions

The meeting will be chaired by MEP Isabelle THOMAS and will be divided into 2 session, the first one focussing on EU Strategy for the sector, the second on the state of play in EU territories and the needs of the sector.


Event Properties

Event Date 21-03-2018 8:00
Event End Date 21-03-2018 10:00
Registration Start Date 01-03-2018
Deadline to register 21-03-2018
Parlement Européen Bruxelles
Rue Wiertz, 1047 Bruxelles, Belgique
Parlement Européen Bruxelles
Attachment 180321 Agenda.pdf
We are no longer accepting registration for this event

Related News

What is an Intergroup?

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup is one of the 28 Intergroups that were approved on 11 December 2014 by the Conference of Presidents. Intergroups can be formed by MEPs from any political group and any parliamentary committee with a view to holding informal exchanges of views on particular issues and to promoting contact between MEPs and civil society.

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup brings together more than 80 MEPs from six different political groups and from 19 Member States.

Intergroups are not Parliament bodies and therefore may not express Parliament's opinion.

Intergroups are subject to internal rules adopted by the Conference of Presidents on 16 December 1999 (last updated on 11 September 2014), which set out the conditions under which intergroups may be established at the beginning of each parliamentary term and their operating rules.